Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Fravin

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 8, 2017
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
I have been using Adobe's software for the last fifteen years. But in the last couple of years, I gave Affinity's software a try. And, Man, what a good piece of software they do! Solid, fast and it seems to be well optimized. It's really different from Adobe way of life. There is no bloatware. There are no lags. No performance issues. You get a solid solution for getting work done.

This year, I decided to wipe Adobe Creative Suite off my Mac. But I'm missing Acrobat.
I'm used to opening PDFs in Acrobat to check if the colors were successfully rendered, check how is the press capabilities of certain file (checking if process colors were separated correctly, and if the spot colors were separated into CMYK)...

So, do you guys use another PDF editor tool for graphics or publishing needs? Let me know if there is a good option out there.

Reactions: bousozoku

dborja

macrumors 6502a
Sep 13, 2007
Northern California
I use PDF Reader Pro. 'Was using the free "Lite" version for a couple of years until I saw a 50% discount special to get the permanent (non-subscription) advanced version.

Reactions: Fravin

Fravin

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 8, 2017
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
I'm not a designer. Doesn't Affinity already do that stuff?

I do use the Publisher! But it's for DTP, not for check PDFs. Actually, it is a heck of a software. So smooth, so fast... It's the kind of thing that makes you wonder about how Adobe's software is so badly optimized. :oops::rolleyes::)

I'm in love with Affinity suite. Will check the PDF Gear an PDF Reader Pro. Thank you all.

Reactions: jchap

ixxx69

macrumors 65816
Jul 31, 2009
United States
PDFgear is what I use to replace Acrobat.
Thanks for suggesting PDFgear.

My 10 minute review...