Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Christopher11

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 10, 2007
I'm a music professional and need to sync my iPhone with iTunes several times a day. My issue is, it keeps beeping, iPhone charging, but iTunes frequently will not sync with my iPhone SE 3rd gen. I have a 14 on the way but I doubt that will change things much. Is it because I use Mojave?

More importantly, is there a way to sync it wirelessly, without the USB cable? I realize I can after I've already connected it... Wireless sync is an option, but it seems iTunes has to update the iPhone at least once fully for that to happen. Grateful for any suggestions. Thank you.

renkui liu

macrumors newbie
Mar 3, 2023
This is because every time you open itunes, you need to update it, so when you plug in a usb cable, itunes will automatically open, and then it will automatically update. All you need to do is keep itunes up to date.

Reactions: Christopher11

Christopher11

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 10, 2007
This is because every time you open itunes, you need to update it, so when you plug in a usb cable, itunes will automatically open, and then it will automatically update. All you need to do is keep itunes up to date.
Okay but please tell me how to do this.

When I plug the iPhone in, iTunes automatically opens, usually, but fails to update / sync the phone. I opened Preferences and don't see how to update iTunes.

renkui liu

macrumors newbie
Mar 3, 2023
After opening the display menu, click the menu "Help" → "Check for Updates". If there is an updated iTunes on the server, an upgrade prompt window will pop up asking whether to upgrade。
This is what I did, and I'm not sure if I can help you.

Christopher11

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 10, 2007