Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

krossfyter

macrumors 601
Original poster
Jan 13, 2002
secret city
Okay I need some help from those out there who are expirenced or somewhat expierenced in web design.

I just bought the web design studio from macromedia...you know the latest versions of Dreamweaver, Flash, Freehand and Fireworks.

Okay im trying to buld my web page...my digital portfolio. Im a learning graphic artist and mose of my expierence comes from print. So im just starting out in web design.

I started doing my page in flash and learned the somewhat of the basics with that..All i need to do is add my images, maybe some videos, add action script and publish my page. Im told I should start in Dreamweaver for what im doing. Im having trouble learning both to be honest with you. I just want to get my site made the way I want it visually and put up on the web but im not sure how to go about it. What program should I start with..should I use both...Is there anything on the web that really helps someone out on starting how to buld visually pleasing web sites or from what angel should I hit my problem? Im confused..please help.

Thanks.

kishba

macrumors 6502a
Dec 11, 2001
Michigan
if you are looking to build a site visually then play around with dreamweaver some more. it may seem confusing at first but it really is the best out there. if learning the program is hindering your work then consider getting a dreamweaver book from amazon (hands on dreamweaver is a good book)

i personally can't stand flash but i do know its more complicated than dreamweaver. my advice: go through the manuals, find a book with examples and then actually make those examples--it's the best way to learn

oh and my #1 tip: don't bite off more than you can chew--you can only do so much at time, especially when you don't fully understand the program yet.

good luck and have fun

Falleron

macrumors 68000