Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

elchicano99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 11, 2007
Hey! So I've been using an old iBook G4 for the last 2 1/2 years, and finally bought a Rev C (pre SR) Macbook Pro (Core 2 Duo) - 2GB, 2.33 GHz, as you can imagine, I am overwhelmed by the enormity of my speed boost and all the other amazing upgrades (I spend hours just plugging and unplugging my magsafe cord, and starting and stopping FrontRow, yeah, I'm one of those people obsessed with productivity...).

What I'd like to know, is what are all the cool applications out there that i've been missing out on due to my pre-Intel processor?

I've installed the amazing all-mighty Windows Vista (sarcasm), and enjoy having OSX on my laptop monitor and Vista running on my external monitor, and I've installed Mira to fully take advantage of my little remote, but what other things can I take advantage of? (Well, there's the fact that I can play games other than TextTwist and Chess...)

Any suggestions? I love trying out apps that enhance my enjoyment of using a computer, you know, like those programs that install into your System Preferences and do all sorts of nifty tricks... are there any useful ones that I can use now and couldn't before other than Mira?

Well sorry for the Ramble and I appreciate your thoughts, thanks!

Tracer

macrumors 6502
Jun 20, 2007
Wikipedia says that there are 3 Revisions.

However weren't they originally released with 1.66 and 1.83GHZ Core Duo's?

Apparently this was changed to 1.83GHZ and 2.0GHZ before launch.

Nice Purchase the Core 2 Duo's are blazing and you won't miss much performance with the lower FSB, except for the lack of 4GB of Ram.

Tracer

TheStu

macrumors 65816
Aug 20, 2006
Carlisle, PA