Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GreggM3

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 13, 2008
Atlanta
I have a second gen MBA and while I do love it I also have a 13inch MBP so it seems unneeded. I am thinking of selling it and buying a Toshiba netbook since it's so much more portable and the battery lasts almost 9hrs. Any thoughts? Any idea on what I could get for a mint 1.6Ghz MBA with external super drive?

thegoldenmackid

macrumors 604
Dec 29, 2006
dallas, texas
I love my netbook and definitely did not like the Air for the week that I had to play around with it. Portability is not comparable and the fact that I have a hackintosh makes it so much better.

Check Mac2Sell.

1rottenapple

macrumors 601
Apr 21, 2004
you are definitely a prime candidate for selling the mba. i think its a good decision since you have the 13 mbp

grinny11

macrumors regular
Aug 12, 2008
I had a netbook. I really disliked that I couldn't watch HQ youtube videos. Not HD but just HQ. They are very portable but I don't think they are much more portable then an air since they weigh about the same. Even sometimes just normal youtube would stutter. Everything else seemed ok in speed. I overclocked the processor to 2Ghz, upgraded the ram to 2gigs. Tried every speed trick possible to speed up flash video and windows.

GreggM3

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 13, 2008
Atlanta
I am definitely considering selling the MBA. I do love it but I don't really see the justification of a MBA and a 13inch MBP when a netbook will last longer and be more portable (at least dimension-wise).
I figure I could probably get $800-$1000?

fredf

macrumors 6502
Oct 31, 2008
I think one would really have to see the final dimensions and weight.
I'd much rather have a real keyboard and a 'real' computer unless something in the touch/netbook blows me away....which I think is unlikely

Having said that, it would be very tempting!

financeguy