Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

blakespot

Administrator
Original poster
Jun 4, 2000
Alexandria, VA
I had been fighting this issue for several years, and I got to the bottom of it, so I thought I would share. (I see there are no shortage of similar reports in forums across the 'net.)

I have an "iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2017)" that is the mid-level configuration; it is a 3.5GHz quad-core i5 (4 threads) with 16GB system RAM, the Radeon Pro 575 GPU w/ 4GB option onboard, and a 256GB SSD. I have a number of external devices attached, the up-to-date list of which can be seen here:

https://bytecellar.com/the-list/#5KiMac

All worked fine as far as I could tell, and I used the system as I typically used whatever my desktop Mac at the time happened to be, with little issue. On the rare occasion I would experience a Kernel Panic, but that would happen a few times a year in general, it was my experience. But, this was in "the beforetime" (as I write this, we've just passed the 1 year mark of work-at-home for me due to the Covid-19 pandemic). This was when I spent most of my time on a computer using my work MacBook Pro, or my personal MacBook Air or iPad Pro on the couch -- the desktop Mac was typically used for photo editing here and there (which I do more and more on the iPad now) and the occasional work or personal coding (I game on PC and console). So the iMac wasn't getting a lot of use other than being the household fileserver, host of photos, music, PLEX, and backup point. Once the shutdown happened, however, I began spending all day in front of this iMac as my main development system for the day job. And that's when I started to notice the frequency of Kernel Panics...