Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Clayto1332

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 2, 2017
Hi guys! I'm new here so thanks for having me.

Let me start off by saying I am a computer repair technician. Never had a problem working on Mac computers. If anything everything is easy to get to and laid out nice and neat.

A customer brought me a iMac 27" 2015 i5 (I believe an A1419) that won't power on after a lightning storm. OK! Sounds like a power supply to me! I didn't bother dis-assembling to look at it first and ordered the power unit. Put it in.... and.... no one home. Do diagnostic LEDs, nothing. I did some reading and saw that the AC line filter can go bad and is serviceable in older iMac models.

Well I get to looking online and can't find a single one. I think I know why.

It can't be removed from the chassis.

It seems to be held in there with industrial strength adhesive or epoxy. I see no screws holding it in and it will not budge. Am I missing something simple? Anyone run into this problem before? I know for sure this is what went out because I am getting zero voltage on a multimeter on the lead that plugs into the power unit.

I just find it hard to believe that the whole chassis has to be replaced. These go for about 300 dollars+ used and this whole ordeal will end up being a 500 dollar or so repair. It is a 2 year old computer with no apple care. If this is the case I need to discourage businesses from buying these. This one in particular is the book keeping computer for a roofing company and has put them in a bit of a pickle. A plain-Jane Dell OptiPlex with the exact same specs has a 3 year business class warranty with next day on-site service. This customer could buy one of these with the same amount of money it would take to repair this one. However I try not to push people to different operating systems and products they aren't used to using.