Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rick snagwell

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Feb 12, 2011
alta loma, ca
hey everyone, i have an idea to make an ios8 app that would extend to the watch for main use. would help in my profession.

is xcode easy to learn for a basic app?

can someone point me in the right direction to start tinkering around?

TouchMint.com

macrumors 68000
May 25, 2012
Phoenix
Apple has made it as confusing as possible to get anything but the most basic things working on the watch. I've been making iPhone / iPad apps for about 3-4 years and attempting to make things for this watch is a pretty confusing process.

DannyBres

macrumors 65816
Oct 30, 2007
UK
Apple has made it as confusing as possible to get anything but the most basic things working on the watch. I've been making iPhone / iPad apps for about 3-4 years and attempting to make things for this watch is a pretty confusing process.

Really? :/

I read the Watch HIG and watch about 10 videos on YouTube and that was it, I am proficient at making watch apps and had a nice one in the store on day one.

It is super limited and simple, there is very little to go wrong with.

What you struggling with?

----------

hey everyone, i have an idea to make an ios8 app that would extend to the watch for main use. would help in my profession.

is xcode easy to learn for a basic app?

can someone point me in the right direction to start tinkering around?

It is pretty hard, been playing with xCode as a hobby for 4 years, released my first proper app last month.

If you're serious abiout it and do not know any languages, (as I was) read Objective-C and iOS programming by the Big Nerd Ranch then you'll have a good understanding of the language and know how to use the Developer Documentation to make use of the provided the Cocoa Touch objects in your own apps.