Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

grmlin

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Feb 16, 2015
Hi all,
I'm a frontend developer (for a long time), currently building webapps with React and all the things.

I'm feeling the itch to do something new in the evenings on my couch. Swift looks interesting, and it would be new. Is it worth it and good enough these days? I remember reading a lot of negative posts back when it released.
I could just use React Native, but right now I don't care for platforms, using iPhone, iPad, macOs... And React native would be more of the same I already do at work.

I have no interest in digging into Objective C, I never liked the language from the outside. Is it still mandatory to learn it in 2019 with SwiftUI on the horizon?

Thanks all, hearing about any experiences with Swift would be great!

MisterSavage

macrumors 601
Nov 10, 2018
Every once in a while I experience an odd behavior that makes me research how/why something is acting an unexplained way and it turns out to be Objective C related. It's not a regular occurrence though.

deadworlds

macrumors 65816
Jun 15, 2007
Citrus Heights,CA
I recommend getting apples books on swift “intro to app development with swift” and “app development with swift.” These are available for free from the iBooks store. These two books in conjunction should get you up to speed on writing swift code and also get you comfortable with writing apps using UIKit.

Reactions: 370zulu

grandM

macrumors 68000
Oct 14, 2013
Hi all,
I'm a frontend developer (for a long time), currently building webapps with React and all the things.

I'm feeling the itch to do something new in the evenings on my couch. Swift looks interesting, and it would be new. Is it worth it and good enough these days? I remember reading a lot of negative posts back when it released.