Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Apple fanboy

macrumors Ivy Bridge
Original poster
Feb 21, 2012
Behind the Lens, UK
So Mrs AFB has asked me to shoot some video for her. These will be craft tutorial videos as she is a card maker.
I'll be using my Nikon D750.

So there is a glut of tutorials out there, but anybody found any particular good ones on the editing side.

I was originally going to use Davinci Resolve (free version) but tbh my 2012 iMac just doesn't have the GPU.

So switched to iMovie which is okay (if a bit glitchy).
Just going to do basic video with stills and titles etc. Will be adding separate music and voiceover.

I'm a complete novice on the video side, but reasonably competent on the stills side.

TheTruth101

Suspended
Mar 15, 2017
You need to add ram. That iMac is just fine. I do HD on the 27" version. But you need at least 16GB of ram and internal or external ssd drive. At least get the ram and some external drive.

TheTruth101

Suspended
Mar 15, 2017
That particular iMac, if is the 27" is a good computer. I was using one for 4 years until 3 weeks ago when I left that job. You would need video ram (GPU) if you are going to do extensive render but I used to work in After Effects with that machine just fine. The Davinci is a very pro software. Try using Premiere Pro, I believe the first month is free. Still, iMovie would do. It is more about experience than software for the kind of job you want to do. I ended up doing promos basically in Quicktime but I knew how to put together a good story line.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
So Mrs AFB has asked me to shoot some video for her. These will be craft tutorial videos as she is a card maker.
I'll be using my Nikon D750.

So there is a glut of tutorials out there, but anybody found any particular good ones on the editing side.