Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

twinkletwink

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 21, 2023
Hey! I am new to learning about how computers actually work but am learning a lot and loving all of it. I am in need of a new laptop, and am comparing upgrading the M2 Pro from 16 to 32gb RAM (this version has the slower 512GB SSD), or instead upgrading from 10 to 12core CPU, and 16 to 19core GPU (with a faster 1TB SSD). I do a lot of 3d modeling in Fusion 360, I use the Adobe suite a lot, am getting into Ableton, and work with large video datasets that I need to analyze with custom Python scripts (think terabytes of data, stored externally). I am also looking into using machine learning for video analysis as well. I tend to run multiple things at once and am bad at quitting programs until I'm sure I'm done using them (working on this!). Just dropping some info for reference - if anyone has any thoughts, I'd really appreciate it. I dont know computers well enough to have an instinct for which would max out first. Trying to get the best bang for my buck here. Cheers!

dmccloud

macrumors 68040
Sep 7, 2009
Anchorage, AK
When I got my M1 MBP, I went for doubling the storage over RAM. While that worked great at first, I started running into issues as my workflows moved more towards 4k video editing instead of 1080p. You can always add an external drive if you need additional storage, but you can't add an external solution for RAM.

Reactions: KaliYoni

twinkletwink

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 21, 2023
What are you using now, and what's the bottleneck?