Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

maheshvunnam

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 17, 2017
Hi All,

Following is the issue i'm facing. i'm new to the terminal and this linux env
I tried to set the env variables on my mac for the ANT and MAVEN.
something nano ~/.bash_profile

and after logging back, my terminal always opens with the following commands and any linux command i run it gives me error -"-bash: env: No such file or directory".

Last login: Wed May 17 21:07:56 on ttys000
-bash: /Users/me/apache-maven-3.5.0: is a directory
-bash: /Users/me/apache-ant-1.10.1: is a directory
-bash: /Users/me/tibco_home/as/2.2: is a directory
-bash: /Users/me/tibco_home: is a directory
-bash: /usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/Library/Java/Home/bin:/Library/Java/Home/lib:/bin:/lib:/lib:/bin:/lib:/bin:: No such file or directory
-bash: :/Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/jdk1.8.0_65.jdk/Contents/Home/bin/:/Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/Contents/jdk1.8.0_65.jdk/Home/bin/:/bin:/lib:/lib:/bin:/lib:/bin:: No such file or directory
-bash: touch: No such file or directory
me-MacBook-Pro:~ me$ echo $PATH

me-MacBook-Pro:~ me$ env
-bash: env: No such file or directory
me-MacBook-Pro:~ me$ Env
-bash: Env: No such file or directory
me-MacBook-Pro:~ me$ clear
-bash: clear: No such file or directory
me-MacBook-Pro:~ me$

Can any one help me in resolving the issue and help me in setting the environment variable.

Thanks
Mahesh

Last edited:

maheshvunnam

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 17, 2017
Last edited:

chown33

Staff member
Aug 9, 2009
A sea of green
1. Paste the following line into a Terminal window:
Code:
/bin/mv ~/.bash_profile ~/Failed.txt

2. Close the Terminal window.

3. Open a new Terminal window.

4. There should be no error messages in the new window. If there are any, copy and paste them into a post here.