Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

npjnpj

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 2, 2021
Hi all,

I’ve used a Mac for 20+ years now… but have never experienced an issue like this before!

It’s a bit of read to get the full story. Thanks to anyone who has the time.

The Issue

My MacBook Pro (M1 Pro “16 4TB) freezes during login. The password is accepted. The little white line progresses a tiny bit - then stops and the machine freezes. The clock on Sonoma’s login screen stays at the current time - endlessly frozen.

The only way to get past the login screen has been to do a full wipe and fresh install of Sonoma. This has now happened twice. The first time was a month ago. It happened again a couple of days ago.

I’ve been working with Apple Support the whole time. After each time login has frozen, I’ve tried…
  • Login via Safe Boot
  • Reinstall Sonoma (just the OS reinstall, not wiping the drive)
  • Disk Utility repair on all volumes via recovery mode - ultimately couldn’t fix anything but did report some intriguing errors (see the end of post for the most notable disk utility messages). The first time I got locked out a month ago it looked like some kind of corruption(?). The second time I got locked out, a couple of days ago, Disk Utility mentioned problems with Time Machine snapshots (I attempted to delete the broken snapshot but couldn’t - got a POSIX error).

A Time Machine Story

I suspect the issues could be related to Time Machine (or the snapshots on the internal SSD)… or maybe the internal drive's errors are just making Time Machine freak out... So here's some info with some odd backup issues that have happened at the same time.

Time Machine Drive #1