Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

revmacian

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 20, 2018
USA
Now that I have my MacBook Air (2019), I'm looking around for a portable external SSD. The external storage will be used for files that I want to keep but don't need access to on a daily basis.

The two models I've been looking at are:
* Samsung T5 Portable SSD
* SanDisk Extreme Portable SSD

Desired features:
* easily fit into a pocket
* USB-C connection
* 1TB range (will likely last years for my use)
* wear leveling features (is this standard on SSD's?)

Anyone here have experience with the above two products? Are there other devices I should be considering?

Clix Pix

macrumors Core
I have been using Samsung's external SSD series for several years now and I wholeheartedly recommend the T5! Fast, small and very portable, and definitely fits in a pocket or small compartment in a bag, it comes with both a USB-C to USB-A cable and a USB-C-to USB-C cable. This was wonderful for me when making the transition from an older machine to Apple's current offerings, so transferring data from an older machine to a new one was not at all a problem.

Samsung T5s come in several capacities ranging from 256 GB to 2 TB..... Prices have dropped significantly on these things since the T5 first arrived on the horizon, too.

The T5 is easy to set up with a Mac. Just plug the thing in and go to Disk Utility and format it to APFS..... After that, start putting whatever data you want on the drive.

I have never used the Sandisk Extreme, so can't offer any opinions on that. I have also used the G-Drive rugged portable SSD (not sure if that's the exact name, but close to it).....and it, too, works well. The only thing I don't like about it is that the cables, both the USB-C to USB-C and the USB-C to USB-A are very short, which may be inconvenient in some situations.