Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dark_preacher

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 18, 2018
i'm new to macs and the macosx world after using iphone/ipad for many years and i've always been a windows user.

currently bought a couple mac mini's to mess around with, one is older macmini which will support up to 10.11 el capitan and a late 2011 which will support on through to 10.13 high sierra.

here are current osx on these

mac mini older - 10.6 final build
mac mini newer - 10.8.5 - mountain lion

i'm looking to go back and collect the macos i don't have. waiting on a power brick for the older mini as that one was lost in the mail. when i get that one in i will be able to add el capitan to my account. i currently have 10.12 - sierra and 10.13 - high sierra added to my account. will be adding el capitan. i have the physical media for 10.6 which was included with the older unit so i should be covered through most releases of macos.

first question - is it possible to create a usb installer off the new mac mini's recovery partition that has 10.8 on the recovery partition? this would leave me only needing to buy the apple download for 10.7 - lion and try to find some way to get the macos mavericks and mac os yosemite installers that i'm missing. i'm wanting to try a lot of different installs across these two machines and just get a greatest hits of how the os has changed over the years and settle on something a little older that still will work well for the older mini. i did find checksums for the install files to verify if they are correct but i haven't had much luck sourcing these. does anybody know if apple plans to make these available again in the future?