Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Loco Sock

macrumors member
Original poster
May 17, 2010
Anyway, I'm coming from a 27" 5k-iMac 2017 with a 2TB Fusion drive that's got around 1.2TB free.

So, I was looking at the base model Mac Mini with 16GB of RAM and keeping the 256GB SSD in there. But, I only get 2 TB4 ports. I looked at the Studio Display and I can just see in 5 or 6 years, them not updating the iOS on it any more and for some reason, it not being able to run the newest OS.

I'm running Sonoma via OCLP.

Anyway, I was looking at this monitor, the Gigabyte M28U https://www.amazon.com/GIGABYTE-Monitor-Display-Response-FreeSync/dp/B094NX6C8R ... I have no experience with Gigabyte, but the reviews seem pretty good and lots of people having success with the 144hz Refresh rate, which would be "nice" to have (using DP 1.4). The resolution is decent too. It's no Retina iMac. I'm also a console gamer and this wouldn't be seeing many games.

On the storage and boot drive front, I was looking at the Acasis 40Gbps M.2 NVMe enclosure https://www.amazon.com/ACASIS-Enclosure-Compatible-Aluminum-External/dp/B0BB74BQVN with a 2TB or 4TB (why not?) WD Black SN850, because I've seen this exact same drive hooked up to Thunderbolt3/4 and getting 2,800MB/s read and write on YouTube.

That leaves me with NO TB ports to put a time machine SSD in. So I'd have to go for more ports, either via the M2 PRO Mini or the Studio.

I really don't want to fork out that money.. as I was hoping to swap Mini's every few years with this setup and whatever else comes up.

I can fit my current system on a 1TB SSD and probably make a few hundred gigs free as I want to do a clean start and just grab things like iPhoto Library and whatever else comes to mind from my current Time Machine (or the computer directly, if I haven't sold it yet).