Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

IliveAboveAMall

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 27, 2022
Hi there! I need your advice.

I’m a graphic designer that are using adobe photoshop and illustrator most of the time, and I wanted to expand my adobe skills but my current laptop limitations (Dell XPS L401X-Intel Core i7, released in 2010-2011, currently in BIOS battery officially damaged state, speakers exploded and not replaced since 2012, super slow boot, blue screen multiple times, and the clock must be changed every time I turned it on) unable me to learn new things, from adobe lightroom to adobe after effects, and adobe dimension, which is the recent release from the Adobe Creative Cloud line.

As I am preparing to switch from Dell XPS to MacBook now that I have the budget, I am torn between MacBook Pro 14” M1 Pro and the upcoming MacBook Air M2, as my friends as well various reviewers said that MacBook Pro 13” M2 was not living up to their expectations.

In your opinion, which MacBook should I choose to use? Or should I wait until M2 Pro?

Last edited:

MrGunny94

macrumors 65816
Dec 3, 2016
Malaga, Spain
It depends on your workloads, personally for me I went with the M1 Pro because I wanted the dual display 4k@60hz support and the new design.

In terms of performance the M1 was more than enough for me, in your use case if you are using big PSD files and big projects I'd go with the M1 Pro as well.

We don't know anything about the M2 Pro yet, however if you need a computer now get the M1 Pro, if you can wait... It's up to you.

darngooddesign

macrumors P6
Jul 4, 2007
Atlanta, GA
...as my friends as well various reviewers said that MacBook Pro 13” M2 was not living up to their expectations.
Everyone has different expectations, sometime unrealistic.