Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sowelu

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 15, 2008
New York City
I am new to the Mac mini and my M2 (non-pro) BTO mini arrived yesterday. Everything is great, it's super fast and runs cool and dead silent. But, for some reason, it will not fully go to sleep.

Just the Apple Studio Display goes to sleep while the Mac mini is still running (I can feel a slight cool breeze in the back indicating that the fan is still spinning). This is true while manually activating 'Sleep' from the Apple Menu, or automatic sleep after inactivity.

I turned off 'Link to Mac or iPad', 'Wake for network activity' and 'Hand Off', but still, only the display goes to sleep while the Mac mini continues to run. The mini should sleep even with these options turned on, but wanted to troubleshoot to see if any of them were the culprit.

I do have the Bluetooth Apple Magic Keyboard and Magic TrackPad connected to the M2 mini, but they are supposed to go into standby after a certain amount of time/inactivity, so I am not sure if that's the problem. Perhaps there is a Ventura BT bug or something?

The last Mac desktop that I owned was a 27" 5K iMac (with BT Apple Keyboard and Mouse) and it never had any issues going to sleep - all my other Macs are MacBook Pros and Airs.

If the M2 Mac mini didn't have a fan I wouldn't care, but I don't want the fan running 24/7 when the Mac is not in use. This can't be normal behavior, so I was wondering if anyone else has this issue with their M2 Mac mini?

Last edited:
Reactions: Cham2000

Heat_Fan89

macrumors 68030
Feb 23, 2016
The new Mini's handle it differently now. If you leave the Mac on idle it will eventually go into sleep mode by itself, then a deep sleep. It takes time for that to happen.