Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ambrosia7177

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 22, 2023
Hello. I am getting ready to buy a new 14" MacBook Pro.

It will be used 70% for day-to-day work (e.g. spreadsheets, email, surfing, etc) and 30% for video-editing in DaVinci Resolve.

I assumed that getting an M3 Max would be the best, but recently had someone say that unless I am doing really heady-duty work, that the M3 Pro would be more efficient.

I also hear people online complaining about noise issues with the M3 Max.

I am new to video-editing, but hope to get into more advanced video-editing work as soon as possible. I also want to learn motion graphic (e.g. DaVinci Resolve Fusion), and again, hopefully get into more professional-level areas ASAP.

Would an M3 Pro or M3 Max better suit my needs?

jb310

macrumors regular
Aug 24, 2017
I'd say try the M3 Pro first, and if you find that it's not enough, then you have 14 days to return it with no questions asked. :apple:

Reactions: _Mitchan1999

Ambrosia7177

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 22, 2023
I'd say try the M3 Pro first, and if you find that it's not enough, then you have 14 days to return it with no questions asked. :apple:

Thanks, but I see computer like underwear - not something one tries on and experiments with.

Anyone here do advanced video-editing who can speak to the M3 Pro and M3 Max?

One thing I have heard is that the M3 Max has more fan noise.

Reactions: ConvertedToMac

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
OP:

What are you using RIGHT NOW?
A laptop?

Here's a thought.
If you're using a Mac laptop right now, KEEP IT.

And then... get yourself something like a Mac Studio for the video editing, perhaps along with a 27" 4k display.

picpicmac

macrumors 65816
Aug 10, 2023
Hello. I am getting ready to buy a new 14" MacBook Pro.