Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

KANDAQ

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 6, 2016
Refurbed Mac Mini late 2012 i5 2.5GHz
8GB x 2 Kingston PC3L 12800 RAM
Primary drive - Kingston 480GB A400 SSD
Secondary drive - Seagate 2TB HDD
Official Apple DVI to VGA Adapter
MacOS Mojave 10.14.5 (reinstalled ML through internet recovery and directly upgraded to Mojave)
Connected to router using CAT6 LAN cable

Hello all,

I’m very new to Mac and this Mac Mini is my very first. I have used MBA and MBP before but both were borrowed rather than owned.

There is this sometimes irritating problem I face where the whole system will stutter for somewhere between 2-5 seconds for no reason. This can happen as often as every 10 minutes, or sometimes it takes hours before it stutter. Sometimes with the beachball and sometimes it’s just the mouse cursor. During this time, iTunes playback will also freeze. With all music downloaded from Music, it will resume once the system is back to normal. If my music are streamed, it’ll pause and I have to go back to iTunes to resume it. Spotify desktop app, YouTube, Plex Media Player playback does not freeze during this time but everything else becomes unresponsive.

I use my Mini purely for productivity, browsing and media consumption. Nothing heavy.

Troubleshooting done:
  1. Opened Activity Monitor and stared at it while doing nothing with only iTunes running and playing. During the freeze there’s no spike in processor (utilisation below 10%), memory pressure green (total used around 8GB), disk IO extremely low, network packets also extremely low).
  2. Fresh boot with no startup items. Repeat step 1 above.
  3. CPU temperature around 60 Celsius, storage temperature around 33 Celsius.
  4. No USB plugged in except HP Windows keyboard. Logitech mouse connected through Bluetooth.
  5. Removed secondary drive and use only the primary SSD.