Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

daniramirezescudero

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 16, 2023
I'm a journalist. I work mainly with the following services open simultaneously: mail app, Spotify, grammarly, WhatsApp, Telegram, Slack, Calendar, Deepl, Bluetooth connected keyboard + mouse + loudspeaker and heavy browser usage (Brave mainly)

I usually can have 20 tabs open. I type in several Google docs and grammarly. I do not video of photo edit. I don't use big files, occasional big PDF's.

I think I must upgrade from 8GB to 16GB of memory due to the multiple tabs. I heard of the low speed of the SSD of the base model 256GB which doesn't occur with models from 512GB. BUT, maybe people are exaggerating? I'm sure it'll be slow for video/content creators but maybe not for me.

Do you think I MUST upgrade memory or SSD or both? With both upgrades the price rises to €1500 close to the price level of macbook M2.

Any opinions what device I should take?

*Currently I use a MacBook 15" mid 2015, 16GB 256GB. Works fine but tempted to upgrade, not an urgency atm. I use only 100GB of the SSD, so the upgrade to 512GB would be only for a faster SSD, not for the needing really more capacity.

MBAir2010

macrumors 603
May 30, 2018
there
My mac mini m1 is excellent with 8gb ram and 256gb ssd.
i never felt limited when i type, enhance photos or improve my comics i drew on the iPad.
since my macbook air with the same specs served me well for over a year, i purchased the mini with confidence.
this was an upgrade from intel mbp ‘12 with 16 gb ram
which is a huge difference in speed.

as i type im also researching facts and ideas and that “sidebar” Stage Manager
were the program options on the left are an asset in both Ventura and Sonoma.

i hoped this helped.

meson

macrumors 6502
Apr 29, 2014
The base model is more than adequate for your usage.