Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

willv84

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 18, 2014
Hello

I am new with mac computers but believe me I am really happy. I was given a mac mini with the following specification:

Apple Mac Mini Core 2 Duo A1176 Mid-07
(1.83GHz, 1GB RAM, 80GB HDD)

And I would like to upgrade memory and storage as well the os but before I do that I need to know if it is possible. could I install one of the recent osx versions?, what the is the maximum on memory that it supports?, Could you please help me to find it out?.

Thank you very much!!!

jpietrzak8

macrumors 65816
Feb 16, 2010
Dayton, Ohio
Ah, I have one of those myself. :) It can be upgraded to 4 GB of RAM, and takes a serial ATA drive (either an HD or an SSD) if you want to change out the internal storage. (With a machine this old, though, I prefer to use external drives; makes it easier to transfer the drive to a new machine, if you need to do that.)

Sadly, the last version of OS X that officially supported the 2007 Mini was 10.7 (Lion). (There are ways to trick a later version of OS X to run on this machine, but I've not done that myself, as the more recent versions consume a lot more RAM.)

This is a very nice machine with a lot of durability. (Mine has been running almost continuously for the better part of a decade...)

willv84

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 18, 2014
Awesome!!!, I was thinking about 4GB ram and 120 SSD then I think we are good. About the os once I put the new HDD on it how can I install the OS?, any idea?

jpietrzak8

macrumors 65816
Feb 16, 2010
Dayton, Ohio
About the os once I put the new HDD on it how can I install the OS?, any idea?

im stuck on how to install the a os on it