Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JL Radcliffe

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 10, 2022
Dallas, Texas
First, I am new to this forum and to Macs. I began with an Apple II and then a II+ back in the 1970s but work related issues and programming forced me into the Windows world for the last 20 to 30 years. I am now retired and considering a return to Apple products.

I am a photographer. Photography is my main source of enjoyment and expression. I need a system I can depend on to handle my photography.

I recently saw my photos displayed on the new Apple Studio Monitor and was blown away by what I saw. I currently use a windows machine but am now considering a return to Apple products. My question is if all I am interested in doing with an Apple system is running Lightroom and Photoshop and a few more photo related programs, what would be my best choice? Most bang for the buck?

A fully loaded Mac Mini M1 with the Apple Studio Monitor
or
The base Mac Studio: Apple M1 Max and Apple Studio Monitor

Option A may be underpowered and option B may be overkill for Lightroom and Photoshop.

I do not do video or music composure at all so you can remove those variables from the formula.

I would like to hear from photographers who have used both systems and the software I have mentioned as to their thoughts and experiences on the two systems. My old Dell (XPS 8900) is showing its age and I will have to replace it soon.

I am not cheap, just don't want to overspend but certainly wish to make sure I will get at least 6 years out of whatever I decide to buy.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and suggestions.

As always, if this is not the proper place for my question, kindly point me in the right direction.

OldITGeek

macrumors member
Aug 2, 2012