Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mattmh_

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 22, 2020
Looking for buying advice. I'm considering purchasing an M1 either Mac mini or MacBook Pro 13 inch as an interim solution and I thought I'd seek some viewpoints/knowledge/advice about what to do.

Logic Pro is my primary reason for owning a Mac. I'm a hobbiest music producer using logic on my MacBook Pro 13-inch retina dual core 2.4ghz (late 2013) with 8GB RAM. I love my Mac, however it's becoming very slow for using Logic with - it can handle ~70 tracks but then I often get the overload notice which is super annoying and I've had to reduce the sample rate to 44.1khz and ideally for using samples etc. I'd rather have projects at 96KhZ. I mostly use software instruments and stock plugins though I'm now using a few third-party ones which seem to really drain the CPU... My interface is an Apogee Element 24 - fairly good with low latency recording but I prefer to go directly through Logic's input monitoring if possible. My music isn't anything crazy like a film score usually 3-5 mins.

I have long wanted to upgrade with my sights set on a 16-inch MacBook Pro specced out but what with the change to Apple Silicon, the lack of a recently upgraded MacBook Pro processor (yes I'm being snooty about the 2019 one, it's a lot of money and even this site advises not to buy) and seemingly overheating/fan issues I see a lot of people talking about with that Mac, I've held off waiting for an Apple Silicon 16 inch MacBook Pro. However, I really would like to be able to upgrade my system for music production ASAP, and still maintain the goal of eventually getting the 16 inch Apple Silicon MacBook Pro. As such I'm considering one of the new M1 devices with an upgraded 16 GB RAM in the meantime.

My decision would be on the basis of the following: