Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

deazed

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2024
I'm a graphic designer and am currently using a 2017 IMac iCore 5 27" . . . it has slowed down considerably and possibly looking to upgrade. Was looking at the Mac Mini Pro with M2 and wondering is this is a viable option. Budget is a concern.

Should I go with an IMac (now 24" only) or an M2 Mac Mini Pro?

Any feedback is good. Thanks!

Regulus67

macrumors 6502
Aug 9, 2023
Värmland, Sweden
Budget is a concern.

Should I go with an IMac (now 24" only) or an M2 Mac Mini Pro?
I would wait and see what Apple presents in the WWDC this June.
The iMac skipped one generation. The mac Mini Pro might get an M3, or M4. Who knows?
If so, the M2 version could have a refurbished version by then.
Apple could surprise us with an iMac Pro with a larger display as well 30"+. Albeit I would not bet on that.

edit: I see you just joined the forum. If you haven't already. You should have a look at other discussions that fits your use case and needs, in this forum.

Last edited:

frou

macrumors 65816
Mar 14, 2009
Get the iMac because you're already accustomed to a Retina-grade display.

T'hain Esh Kelch

macrumors 603
Aug 5, 2001
Denmark
I'd pick the Mac mini any day for cheaper upgrades, and the option of a bigger display. Especially for graphical work. That being said, you need to factor a display into your buying options.

Reactions: mr_jomo

Bazza1

macrumors 6502a
May 16, 2017
Toronto, Canada
Mac Mini allows you the option to pick the size and style of monitor that best works for you. Unless you're going significantly high end, Mini plus monitor (+ keyboard + camera) is less than cost of iMac. Also, should something go wrong with device, you're only taking in / sending away a little 8 x 8 box, not something much bigger.