Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

capoditutti

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 11, 2006
London
Hi all,

I've recently made 'the switch' and i'm very happy to have done so!!!!

I'm hoping to get some pointers on where to start out as an apprentice of sorts - something i can do to earn a little money while at the same time getting to learn how to use my Mac.

I'd be interested in working for any publication (newspaper/magazine etc), or taking on some work alongside a graphics designer..

Any help would be appreciated, and other recommendations in terms of paths to follow are also welcome.

My background is in Windows HelpDesk support, so nothing useful there i think..:eek:

cApO

capoditutti

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 11, 2006
London
I don't think looking for a job here is a good idea.

Thanks for advising - is there a thread i've missed somewhere where i could get some advice, or is it not the sort of thing discussed on this forum.. I'm not being sarcastic; just tryna get the sense of your message.. :)

bluebomberman

macrumors 6502a
Jan 9, 2005
Queens, NYC
Thanks for advising - is there a thread i've missed somewhere where i could get some advice, or is it not the sort of thing discussed on this forum.. I'm not being sarcastic; just tryna get the sense of your message.. :)

You post sounds more like a direct request for job openings to the forum members than a request for advice. Not sure how many jobs allow you to learn computer systems - specifically Mac systems - on the clock, either.

If you're yearning to work with anything advanced - programming, graphic design, photography - you're going to need more computer skills than basic Mac training. Which means self-training or taking a few courses...

wordmunger

macrumors 603
Sep 3, 2003
North Carolina