Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cantpickaname

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 26, 2005
Hi, I am currently a pc user but have been totally sold on macs for a long time, now i finally have the funds to make the switch (hurrah!). anyway i've been lurking here for a while, considering my options, and you all seem like a helpful bunch of people so maybe you can help :) . ive been looking on the refurb store and i think ive finally made my mind up, thanks to what appear to be some really great deals at the moment. I just had a few questions though. i need a computer that will last me for the next 5 years at least really, as its very rare that i have the money to make such a big purchase. my current dell is now in its 6th year and is on its last legs and i need to make the switch soon before the money dissapears...... im currently a student and have loans etc but once i get out into the big wide world im not going to have any money for a long while so yeah, anyway, will the dual 2ghz powermac last me all that time, or should i really be looking at the 2.3? i will be using it in the short term just as a machine for day to day activities but in the long term for logic pro and other music related activities (when i can afford the software). if i get the dual 2ghz i can probably stretch to getting the 12" combo powerbook as well which would be lovely! but a more powerful powermac will stretch my budget too far and that will be all i can manage. The powerbook would be great for taking with me to college and also maybe to gigs for sound processing type stuff (im a sax player, hope to get some electronic type stuff going on at some point, again if i get the software sorted) and to rehearsals for recording etc. i would go for the ibook but i understand it doesnt have an audio in and so would be useless for this stuff. anyway the powerbook would be great, but not if its going to leave me with a