Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

freeflyte

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 5, 2005
I'm going to be buying a different computer and am wondering mac or non-mac? The main reason I need something different is that with my current mac os9.2 I don't seem to be able to view wmv files and several other types of music files that seem to be more compatible with a non-mac type of system. I'm very new at this and have tried every suggestion and software downloads (that are supposedly intended to enable an os9.2 to gain access to certain types of files with minimal progress), and am wondering if I should just get a non-mac to solve this problem or what???

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
Adelaide, Australia
I don't mean to state the obvious, but are you seriously thinking that someone on Macrumors is going to recommend a PC? I'm pretty sure OSX with the help of WMV9, QuickTime and VLC will play almost every type of movie out there apart from WMV10 (can't remember the name exactly) which are really rare.

I recommend the Mac route, you should be fine. Remember, OS9 is ancient in OS terms, so you can't really expect other companies to keep supporting it. It's sad, but it's just the way of the industry. :(

To be honest though, I think you'll appreciate a pretty massive difference whether you upgrade to XP or OSX. They're both significantly better than OS9 IMO, but Tiger has the edge (massive understatement ;) ).

freeflyte

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 5, 2005
mac vs non-mac