Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

biobot

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 18, 2008
Hi there,

I am in need of some basic networking advice. I work for an educational institution that has over 100 Macs in my department for which I am responsible. I am new to Macs and computer technician work in general, so forgive my ignorance.

I would like to upgrade a whole bunch of computers we have to the Leopard OS (they are currently running Tiger). They all meet the basic requirements and I think this would be a good improvement. However, I see that not only can I purchase a license for the Leopard OS, but also the server OS, which comes with 10 or more client licenses.

I am trying to figure out which one of these avenues I should pursue. I do have a Mac server, but none of the client macs actually access the server, except for 2 or 3. However, I would like to use the server to help me create disk images for our computer labs so I can quickly restore them when I want to. Also, I like being able to control the computers remotely (currently using Apple Remote Desktop to do this).

Are there any suggestions about what the advantage of using the networking version of the software vs. the individual OS licenses is?

Thanks!

dr. shdw

macrumors 6502a
Aug 27, 2008
What..why would you need the Leopard Server to create images? All you need are blank externals, FW800/400, and CarbonCopyCloner/SuperDuper. Also Apple Remote Desktop works without Leopard Server..unless you use Task Server.

Cromulent

macrumors 604
Oct 2, 2006
The Land of Hope and Glory
However, I see that not only can I purchase a license for the Leopard OS, but also the server OS, which comes with 10 or more client licenses.