Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

esquire360

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 8, 2007
Hey mac peoples, got a few mac os x lopard server questions. is it easy to learn? I'd like to host a few web sites. and intergate my business with iChat server. I'm a pc tech but networking confuses me. any thoughts advice.

How does Time machine server work? can they vpn in and do time machine backups over the web?

on can i run .mac type services with it? like web gallerys?

Cromulent

macrumors 604
Oct 2, 2006
The Land of Hope and Glory
If you are reasonably comfortable with Unix type systems then it will be easy to pick up. Setting up the simple things is a piece of cake in OS X Server, just be aware that at some point you will need to get down and dirty and start using the terminal.

Fearless Leader

macrumors 68020
Mar 21, 2006
Hoosiertown
I would really read up on this. invest on some professional grade advice. this is something that can go really wrong really fast if you are don't know what you are really doing.

Advice,
stay away from mail hosting. it isn't worth it unless you really need it or understand it.
learn about security, its your main goal.
you can put anything you want on the web server. You need to either build or find .mac like services.

the vpn and time machine would work (im 99% sure) but it'll be slow.

twoodcc

macrumors P6
Feb 3, 2005
Right side of wrong
yeah, i'm a newbie when it comes to servers, and i still haven't figured out os x server. been trying for over a year now it seems. i usually give up for a few months and then try again later

foidulus

macrumors 6502a
Jan 15, 2007
My advice

is to use Linux. In my professional opinion, in the server world it is not only more secure, its a LOT less buggy. Be prepared for frustration if you use OS X server, Apple will go for YEARS with major bugs left in the product.