Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Surrat

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 20, 2014
United States
A while back I received a Mac Pro 2,1 that had been junked.
I would like to share what I learned about it.

Apple sold the 2,1 as an 8 core upgrade of the 1,1. They didn’t say anything else was changed if you look at the available info. This was rather misleading, a LOT was changed. Many people seem to think the 2,1 is really just a 1,1 with different cpu’s, this is completely wrong.

Going over the 2,1 has been very interesting. I have a lot of experience with Mac Pro’s, but this was my first 2,1. Almost nothing in it is directly from a 1,1.

The entire case, front fan unit (with 2 screws), magnetic cpu cover, and power supply, are like a 3,1.

The memory box, is a hybrid of 1,1 and 3,1. It fits the 1,1 risers, but has the magnetic cpu cover section like a 3,1.

The heatsinks are unique, being similar to a 3,1 with 3 full length heat pipes each, and plastic support blocks in the base, but they are different in that the base is cut differently than a 1,1 or 3,1.

The motherboard, is unique, it is NOT a 1,1 or 3,1 type. its similar to a 1,1 but some items have been moved around near the cpu’s. It has both heatsink sensor plugs on the left side of the cpu sockets, and includes the 3,1 style cpu mount block bosses. It also uses a 1,1 style northbridge heatsink.

In trying to repair this 2,1 I first replaced the motherboard. I don’t have another 2,1 board, so used a 1,1 board and flashed it to 2,1. It is a drop in replacement as long as you remove the cpu heatsink support blocks, and reroute the lower cpu sensor cable to the right side.