Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jtporter9

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 6, 2018
Okay so... Bought a 2009 Mac Pro about a month ago, Worked great, did the 5,1 firmware flash, worked great. Bought ram, CPUs, and a GPU to upgrade. Started with the CPUs X5690's, delidded them myself, pretty sure I killed one of the CPUs. was getting both CPU led lights.

So anyways I tried putting the old CPUs back in just to get it back to a running state, and now when I boot up, I get no chime, no display, and the LED next to the power button blinks about twice every second (no other error LEDs. I've read all over online and I keep reading that it's not detecting my RAM, or my RAM is bad. But I had 6 sticks that worked previously to the CPU switch. I tried each one individually in DIMM slot 1, as well as the new ram sticks just to check, and on change. I've done a lot of troubleshooting but I'm no expert.

Hoping ya'll could give me some advice. I could really use some help, before giving up and dropping a ton on a new A board w/ CPUs and all. Thanks!

Jtporter9

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 6, 2018
I did already try with ram only on CPU A side. No luck.
I also tried with just CPU as well. Same result.
https://photos.app.goo.gl/jgSVVJMVFntppwn57
Here is a link to some photos I took of the sockets which seem pristine to my eye.

And also to the Northbridge heatsink spring rivets. Now here I'm not really sure what I'm looking for. Am I checking they are loose? missing? They seem like they are solid (see photos).

Thanks for the link, they do have some reasonable pricing.

MacZoltan

macrumors member
May 18, 2016
I assume you have the same issue I had recently. check if the plastic spacer on the top of your CPU is not broken and putting too much pressure on the CPU itself.