Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iamsoniq

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 9, 2020
NewYork, NY
Hello All,

I have been using this machine for a while and am looking to get internal HD upgrade. What is the best aftermarket drive I can purchase.

I am a music producer and am looking to make sure there is a good amount of local HD space for logic to access things. 256 is running low as I have FCP/Premiere/etc installed.

Arpit

MikkelAD

macrumors regular
Feb 17, 2018
Hello All,

I have been using this machine for a while and am looking to get internal HD upgrade. What is the best aftermarket drive I can purchase.

I am a music producer and am looking to make sure there is a good amount of local HD space for logic to access things. 256 is running low as I have FCP/Premiere/etc installed.

Arpit

In terms of internal possibilities you can go for ordinary NVMe and maybe install a heatsink yourself. You will need one of those small adapters to get around Apple's proprietary connection though(there is other threads about this)
There is also a board from 'Amfeltec' which can carry 2 NVMe drives(there is a dedicated thread to that product) and the original SSD. That way capacity and speed are possible. As far as I remember the RAID 0 option didn't give anymore speed.

The last option is to buy a faster generation SSD taken from newer Apple products. The Mac Pro 6,1 was originally equipped with a SSUAX model and the next generation is called SSUBX. This option may be the best solution for most since this gives you capacity (eg. 1 TB) and the "maximal" speed of around 1500 MB/s at a reasonable price. These drives can be bought with and without heatsink as well...

Last edited:

MisterAndrew

macrumors 68030
Sep 15, 2015
Portland, Ore.
Take a look at this thread for some compatible SSDs.