Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mowl1ng

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 9, 2021
Hello. I have a problem with Apple hardware and googled it around as usual, but after days of search and trial I am out of options. This forum looks like it's the holy bible of Apple stuff, and although I like to tinker with computers, I am a noob in Apple devices, so I decided to give it a try and ask you before giving up. Here's the issue:

I recently got gifted an old Mac Pro 3.1 early 2008 version by a friend, as "something fried" in it. It was full of dust, so I cleaned it all and built it back up. Quickly switched it on before the cleaning, to discover that the GPU [nVidia Geforce 8800gt] gave artifacts on screen, and that it was, in fact, overheating. Still, managed to boot antiX in failsafe mode and check the specs, but nothing more. Cleaned the gpu as well and solved the heat problem, but the artifacts were still there.