Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pattielipp

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 2, 2014
Charleston, South Carolina
TLDR - Skip to the bottom..
This is more of my experience thus far rather than a question, but I figured I'd share so others could do a search and find the information.
A little back story, I am/was a hobbyist videographer, photographer, producer who has been thrust into the production of an automotive series and was originally in WAY above my head. My day job is that of a Sr Sys admin, so I am very technical(this comes into play).
I had initially purchased my Mac Pro in 2017. It was a 2009 4,1 and I immediately installed an x5690(it was a single CPU variant), 16gb of memory and ran a sapphire r9 270x for some time. This worked well and was decent for basic video editing.
Skip ahead and I now own substantially better audio/photo/video equipment, so naturally I needed a way to edit the footage and photos, so the upgrades began.
First came the dual CPU tray and CPU upgrades. I purchased dual X5690's and de-lidded them using the Vice method.
Next came the ram. I'm running old HP server memory from the G6-G7 series in 6x16GB modules, so 96GB memory total in triple channel config and running at the max 1333 speeds.
Next came the GPU in the form of an RX580 8gb and an PCIE/NVME SSD.

I ran this for some time, completed the pilot episode for the series I'm producing and made a bunch of other content but soon discovered a few shortcomings with the two primaries being.
First, the GPU was severely underpowered for what I'm doing.
Second, Color Accuracy of the monitors were subpar(this was handled much earlier but i'll put it here for continuity sake).

After dealing with one of these issues(the color accuracy) I ended up with a mac pro 4,1 that had the following Specs;
2x X5690, 96GB Ram(6x16gb), 5x800GB SSD, 1x250GB SSD.