Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tomscott1988

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 14, 2009
UK
Hi!

I know there is loads of information on the site about 5,1 and graphics cards but the threads are so long I cant find the info I need for some of the newer GPUs for my needs (Non gaming but creative apps).

The machine is a 2010 5,1 with a W3690 3.46 6 core, 48gb of ram, 2x 850 Samsung evos in raid on separate Apricorn sleds in raid O running around 800mb/s read and write and an ATI 5770. Im running an old 23" ACD as a secondary and a 27" ACD as my primarydisplay.

I am a graphic designer and photographer. I use primarily (latest versions of CC) - Lightroom, indesign, illustrator, photoshop but I occasionally use after effects and final cut/premier.

The problem I am having is Lightroom is taking forever to make adjustments. The 1-1 takes a fair amount of time to render which is fine, its the editing which is frustrating, zooming to 100%, local adjustments, sharpening, noise reduction and sharpening and general sliders are very sluggish. I have done all the usual lightroom tricks - larger cache never remove previews putting the cache and library in the same location etc etc

I think the graphics card is my weakness as well as probably the older tech in the CMP but the CPU should be able to handle this, I know its not the fastest but neither is the newer Nmp.

To test if it is the GPU I changed the main display from the 27" 2.5k to the 23" display with GPU acceleration turned on and it was night and day lightroom is so much more responsive. When you sit at the machine for 5-6 hours a day and the sliders are like snails its hard to be productive.