Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iRabbit

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 10, 2007
Long Island, NY
Like the title says, I have a mid-2010 MacPro 5,1. I recently added more ram (now at 52) and replaced all the hard drives a little over a year ago. It's a great machine, but I do feel like maybe there's a little room for speed improvement.

I'm a professional photographer and mostly use photoshop. Occasionally iMovie and Audacity for customer testimonials. I sometimes use photoshop for making vine-type Instagram promos.

I was wondering how many people have done the SSD upgrade to the boot drive -- and did you notice a big improvement in performance? I was looking at the kits from OWC and am considering it, but I don't want to spend the money if it's only going to be a nominal difference.

Thoughts?

Thanks!

Yahooligan

macrumors 6502a
Aug 7, 2011
Illinois
Once you go SSD you'll never go back to a spinning drive for your OS/Apps. Yes, it makes that much difference (Unless you have a RAID, then it won't be as big of a change but still a decent increase in speed).

Reactions: JeffPerrin

JeffPerrin

macrumors 6502a
Jul 21, 2014
I did the same for my 2012 5,1. An SSD boot drive, along with a RAM upgrade (I got 24GB from OWC) really made a big difference in performance here!

//

PieTunes

Contributor
May 6, 2016
San Diego, CA
I wholeheartedly concur with the previous statements. I popped in a Samsung 850 Pro SSD attached to a SATA III card. It is noticeably faster. The system boots in mere seconds and apps load practically instantly. The upgrade is definitely money well spent!

CapnDavey

macrumors 6502
Apr 11, 2015
I have one on a apricorn velocity card its much faster then the 2 tb hard drive's I'm running

iRabbit

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 10, 2007
Long Island, NY
Awesome, thanks so much everyone! Great to hear!