Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Pimander

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 10, 2024
I am stuck on Mojave on my old Mac Pro 5,1. I am about to take the dive with OCLP and wondered whether there is any reason to go for Ventura rather than straight to Sonoma?

My reasoning is purely that I have a slight worry that Apple are constantly "changing" Sonoma and there might be a chance that Sonoma will suddenly stop working on my system. Is this nonsense.

Forgive my ignorance, I have never used OCLP before.

startergo

macrumors 601
Sep 20, 2018
First of all I would not recommend anything greater than Monterey for cMP, due to the AVX2 support. In Sonoma the root sealed volume has to be patched to make the old WIFI Broadcom cards work, so if you insist choosing between those 2 I recommend Ventura.

Pimander

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 10, 2024
AVX2? According to the link below, my GPU (Polaris RX580) will be patched by OCLP and works in Ventura and Sonoma? Am I misunderstanding something here? I don't want to do anything stupid.

I don't care about WiFi because I don't use it, I just use ethernet.

startergo

macrumors 601
Sep 20, 2018

Dropped CPU Support​

macOS Ventura drops support for pre-Haswell CPUs. Much of userspace now requires AVX2 support, along with AMD Polaris GPU drivers and some instances of AVX2 instructions in some kexts. Although the kexts can be patched (opens new window)or downgraded (opens new window), the Polaris GPU drivers and most of userspace rely on AVX2 too much to be able to be patched.

Apple has left a dyld cache that does not use AVX2 instructions in Ventura to support Rosetta on Apple Silicon machines, but this cache is not installed by default. You can use CryptexFixup (opens new window)to force this dyld cache to be installed, but:

• Apple may remove this cache at any time in the future if they add AVX2 support to Rosetta