Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

c1987macguy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 5, 2011
The buyer's guide indicates "Don't Buy" for the current Mac Pros. I'm guessing this is based on past update cycles. I need a fairly power desktop for my work. But I've been advised that a new Mac Pro line is on the horizon. Will the M1 chip be in the Mac Pro's? Others have advised waiting on a Mac Pro purchase. Any informed thoughts?

I bought the worst Mac Pro ever -trash can- because it was the only new hardware that had come out in years. It has actually worked well, but expandability was poor. I don't think an iMac will cut it for my work. But I don't want to spend big on a current Mac Pro that may be obsolete in the near future.

I'm a photographer, photo retoucher, 3D artist, occasional video editing. I do work on some large files in Photoshop (2gb+). And 3D rendering never has enough horsepower. So I need some bang for the buck, as I'm just an independent user. I know Apple is typically top secret about future releases. But that can boomerang as buyers get nervous & wait.

Thanks for any advice.

tsialex

Contributor
Jun 13, 2016
Apple Silicon Mac Pro with M2 will be released sometime in 2023, there are rumors about several iterations of prototypes being actively tested, but no release dates.

If you need a replacement for your Late 2013 Mac Pro right now, check out the Mac Studio.

MisterAndrew

macrumors 68030
Sep 15, 2015
Portland, Ore.
If you like expandability the current Mac Pro is the only option. Look for one second-hand that still has a warranty. Then when the next one comes you can decide if you want to upgrade.

avro707

macrumors 68000
Dec 13, 2010
If you need a computer now that you need to expand then you have to go for the Mac Pro 7,1.

Depends on what kind of software you'll be using. 3D rendering - will you be using Windows as well? If so - 7,1 it is.