Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TheDance511

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 5, 2007
California soon
Hello all.:) I am thinking about buying a Mac pro for movie editing... heavy movie editing...and i have a few questions about the Mac pro before i go out and spend all that money on it.

1) Can I buy the Base model and then add more hard drives when I need them?

2) Can I Change the Video card if I feel it gets outdated later on down the road?

3)(I am new to Mac) Can you only set it up with an Apple display or can it be any moniter?

Please give me feedback. Thank you :apple:

MacNut

macrumors Core
Jan 4, 2002
CT
You can add a bigger hard drive, but not more then one, but you can add external drives. The video card will be hard to replace and I don't think you will need too. You can use any monitor as long as the ports fit, as long as you have any standard DVI monitor.

hayduke

macrumors 65816
Mar 8, 2005
is a state of mind.
Hello all.:) I am thinking about buying a Mac pro for movie editing... heavy movie editing...and i have a few questions about the Mac pro before i go out and spend all that money on it.

2) Can I Change the Video card if I feel it gets outdated later on down the road?

3)(I am new to Mac) Can you only set it up with an Apple display or can it be any moniter?

1) There are four hard drive bays in the Mac Pros. You can add them whenever you like. Aftermarket prices are generally better than Apple's prices.

2) Apple supports a very limited number of videocards. If you install one that is not from Apple I would expect trouble. I think it's important to get the right one at the time of purchase.

3) Any monitor with a VGA or DVI connector will work.

Note this advice varies from the previous post, but I'm pretty certain it is correct.

dkoralek

macrumors 6502
Sep 12, 2006