Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Hav76

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 1, 2024
Hello everyone,
first of all I need to apologize for my post because there are many other posts that says go to OpenCore but I am a musician, not smart enough regarding the technical side of it. I am working with my Mac Pro since 2012 and I was able to upgrade it bit by bit until El Capitan. I would stay with El Capitan but now the time has come because many things are not working anymore and I would be very thankful if someone could explain it to me like explain it to a 10 years old :)

is it even possible for me to upgrade to the MacOs version after 10.11.6 El Capitan?

My Mac Pro early 2008
Processor: 2 x 2.8 Ghz Quad Core Xeon
RAM : 8 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Graphic C:ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256 MB

Many thx in advance

Last edited:

Bigwaff

Contributor
Sep 20, 2013
First, edit your post and remove your serial number.

Second, there are many very good YouTube videos explaining how to install OpenCore with OpenCore LegacyPatcher. Try Mr Macintosh site and YouTube channel.

Hav76

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 1, 2024
First, edit your post and remove your serial number.

Second, there are many very good YouTube videos explaining how to install OpenCore with OpenCore LegacyPatcher. Try Mr Macintosh site and YouTube channel.
Thank you very much. I searched for youtube videos and I get the info that a metal graphic card is required?

OS6-OSX

macrumors 6502a
Jun 13, 2004
California
Musician on OpenCore (Mr. Macintosh the way to go)
Digital Performer 10 Kontakt 5 Kontakt 7
Massive Battery 4 Komplete Kontrol
DSP-Quattro 5 Native Instruments UAD Waves ect. All work

12.7.png

Hav76

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 1, 2024
Musician on OpenCore (Mr. Macintosh the way to go)
Digital Performer 10 Kontakt 5 Kontakt 7
Massive Battery 4 Komplete Kontrol