Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dodofleet

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 18, 2017
Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to classic Macs.

I have a Macintosh SE FDHD with dual floppy drives. Initially after relubricating and cleaning the 2 drives, I thought they were dead, however I have discovered they are reading 400k formatted disks without a problem but not 800k or 1.4mb (spits them out or says they need initializing). I have tried multiple official software disks of the 400k, 800k and 1.4mb varieties with the same results. any ideas?

Thanks.

MacTech68

macrumors 68020
Mar 16, 2008
Australia, Perth
Difficult to say exactly without pics or video.

The mechanism may not be loading fully, leaving the top head out of contact with the media.

Or, the head(s) may be dirty

Or, the top head spring may have been stretched, which is easy to do if you manually lift it too high when cleaning. :eek: :(

Or, the top head is damaged in some way.

dodofleet

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 18, 2017
Difficult to say exactly without pics or video.

The mechanism may not be loading fully, leaving the top head out of contact with the media.

Or, the head(s) may be dirty

Or, the top head spring may have been stretched, which is easy to do if you manually lift it too high when cleaning. :eek: :(

Or, the top head is damaged in some way.
Thanks for the reply MacTech! Sorry for the late response.

Before I knew much about how delicate floppy drives are, I may have stupidly lifted the top heads a bit when cleaning them. Is there any way to repair them (like replace the spring maybe) or am I destined to scrap the drives and buy some more SuperDrives of this vintage?

Thanks.

MacTech68

macrumors 68020
Mar 16, 2008
Australia, Perth
I am loathed to say that if the spring has been stretched, I've usually grabbed a replacement drive and acrapped the bad drive for parts.