Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wh3w4y

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 29, 2019
Sorry if this has been posted before but I could not find it.

I am going to be purchasing a new Mac and iPad Pro shortly and would like some advise so I can decide which is best for my needs.

I have an office where my Mac will live but I also sometimes work from home. Ideally, I would like to buy an iMac and then remote screen share from the iPad Pro from home when I work there. I would need to connect a mouse and keyboard to the iPad Pro and then just use it to screen share with that iMac. I am a designer so would need to use photoshop, illustrator etc. Is this possible and if so has anybody had success with this? My internet connection at both home and work is pretty good and stable.

Alternatively, I will need to get a Macbook Pro instead and bring it home when I work there but I would prefer to have a more powerful iMac.

I have had Macs before and used to use Back to my Mac but I am reading that this has now been removed.

Thanks in advance for the advice

Reactions: jonathan.hostettler

MacDawg

Moderator emeritus
Mar 20, 2004
"Between the Hedges"
Your biggest challenge would be connecting a mouse to the iPad Pro as I don't believe it is supported

That said, there are a number of solutions to remotely connect your iPad to your iMac, and each has their fans and their detractors
I use Teamviewer on my iPhone to access a number of remote desktops, but I also use Microsoft's Remote Desktop client as well

wh3w4y

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 29, 2019
Thanks I will take a look. Would i be better getting an old mac mini that I could leave at home to remote to the new imac? At least that way i can connect a mouse and keyboard

willmtaylor

macrumors G4
Oct 31, 2009
Here(-ish)
I'd also say the mouse+iPad is the oddest/most difficult aspect of this (and perhaps a deal-breaker).