Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

areskins

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 3, 2016
Hi, I’ve never had a macbook before but Im very interested in these macbooks. Im a med student and we usually just use pdf readers, ppt and word. Is the macbook 2015 still usable to this day? Will it slow down any time soon? Is the 2016 baseline model substantially better than the 2015? When will macOS update/support end?

Cheers!

EugW

macrumors G5
Jun 18, 2017
Hi, I’ve never had a macbook before but Im very interested in these macbooks. Im a med student and we usually just use pdf readers, ppt and word. Is the macbook 2015 still usable to this day? Will it slow down any time soon? Is the 2016 baseline model substantially better than the 2015? When will macOS update/support end?

Cheers!
I would not recommend the 2015. Sub-par keyboard and slow. 2016 has same keyboard. I would recommend an education priced 2017 or else refurbished 2017. Core m3 if 256 GB SSD is sufficient.

Or else take a chance on timing and just wait for a 2019 model.

Neodym

macrumors 68020
Jul 5, 2002
I went from a 2015 (m5) to a 2017 (m3) Macbook. Performance difference is negligible. So as long as you‘d go for at least the middle configuration (m5), the 2015 rMB is still very usable even in 2019. I wouldn’t even classify the 2017 keyboard as significantly better. It’s louder, but not that much more precise.

Keep in mind that the 2015 MacBooks saw battery capacity issues for some people. Apart from this - if you find one with a good price, the 2015 is still a viable option imho.

Reactions: radiologyman

EugW

macrumors G5
Jun 18, 2017