Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mister.T

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 27, 2023
Hi,

I'm new with Mac and I've only purchased iPads and iPhones and wanting to take a big jump into the world of MacBooks, which would you guys recommend for a total noob on the Mac OS. I'm looking at these, but not sure if I'm doing right.

Apple MacBook Pro 14 or 16-inch

Thankyou

Dolphins

macrumors newbie
Jan 7, 2023
That will depend on what you need to do with MacBook, what is your user case. Without telling us that, nobody will be able to advise you what to buy.

Reactions: T'hain Esh Kelch

Mister.T

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 27, 2023
Hi, I'll be using it for coding, editing, adobe apps... general internet browsing.

sunapple

macrumors 68030
Jul 16, 2013
The Netherlands
No offence but this is a very unspecified question, some direction for answers would be great.

What have you considered so far? Have you taken a look at the Buyer's Guide at the top of the page? Have you compared them in real life, is weight and size important to you? Have you considered MacBook Air, maybe the upcoming 15" could be interesting? Any requirements for budget?

Reactions: Mister.T

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
OP:

From the use case you posted in #3 above, I'd say you could choose either the 14" or 16" base models and do fine. But...

... it might be worth upgrading to a 1tb SSD. This is 2x as fast as the 512gb SSD (due to different chip arrangement).

Either of these get you into a VERY capable MBP, without "diving in too deep", money-wise.

Also, look around for sales before you "leap".
And... you can save some money by buying from the Apple online refurbished store. Products generally will be indistinguishable from new, AND they come with a full 1-year warranty, AND you can get AppleCare for them, if you want.

Reactions: Mister.T

Mister.T

macrumors newbie
Original poster