Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

How much RAM do I need ?

• 16go

Votes: 41 47.7%
  • 32go (+480€)

Votes: 33 38.4%
  • 64go (+960€)

Votes: 12 14.0%

• Total voters

Camille R

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 22, 2019
Montpellier, FRANCE ☀️
Hi,

I want to buy the new 16" MBP i9, but I don't know how much RAM I need to buy.
The apps I'm using daily are : Firefox, Slack, Ableton Live, Spotify, VS Code (I'm a Rails dev)...
Currently, my Macbook has 16go of RAM and I'm never limited.
Should I stay to 16go or should I buy 32go for the future?

Thanks!

ugahairydawgs

macrumors 68030
Jun 10, 2010
Load up everything you usually have going at any given time. Then open Activity Monitor and check your memory usage. Make your decision based on that while also factoring in how long you plan to keep this machine.

Camille R

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 22, 2019
Montpellier, FRANCE ☀️
Load up everything you usually have going at any given time. Then open Activity Monitor and check your memory usage. Make your decision based on that while also factoring in how long you plan to keep this machine.

Here is what I get with my typical usage :
Capture d’écran 2019-11-22 à 12.06.24.png

interbear

macrumors regular
Sep 5, 2012
UK
Interested in this as I'm having the same dilemma myself. 16GB or 32GB. I currently have a MBP 13 with 8GB RAM which seems fine so I reckon 16GB would be fine but the comments on this thread will be enlightening. Mostly :)

Hakiroto

macrumors 6502a
Jul 8, 2011
It really depends on how long you want to keep it, how likely your work is to change, and how much you're willing to spend. Going against what most people suggest with 16 GB, I say 32 GB if it's within your budget. If not, don't stretch and also don't worry about it as you'll most likely be just fine.