Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cwo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 15, 2013
Ontario
Hi everyone,

I have a question - I've been working from home like everyone else here hopefully!

My work has me split into office / home at times.

Is it possible for me to make a bootable SSD (Using Samsung's T7 SSD drive) with macOS Catalina, apps, files and use that to boot into from my MacBook Pro 16 inch? I have this laptop as my personal computer but don't want to have to partition the drive into two separate files or create another user account as I only have 512 gb size.

I have an iMac at the office that is 2018 which has USB-C / Thunderbolt - so trying to get a portable office that I can carry back and forth from home instead of dragging my iMac home every time....

I work as a graphic designer so the programs are largely the core Adobe Creative Suite, MS Office, MS Teams, Sugarsync and files.

Thank you for any responses!

Cheers,
cwo

ascender

macrumors 601
Dec 8, 2005
Can you not just install the apps you need on each machine and then have your user files in a cloud service like iCloud or Dropbox meaning you have those on both?

Or is the issue that you don’t want to run Catalina on both?

cwo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 15, 2013
Ontario
Thanks everyone and appreciate it! I'll try that approach Rich and see if that works out.
I have thought about cloud drives but as I work in design, sometimes the fie sizes get big.... downloading 2-3 gb files to work on them gets pretty tired fast... lol

cWo

DanMan619

macrumors regular
Dec 30, 2012
Los Angeles, CA
If it were me, i'd also consider just having two separate logins/accounts on your 16" MBP. That way, user interface wise, your Work and Personal is separated but storage wise you aren't having to split or partition your 512 GB internal drive. If you definitely need it on an external though, i second Rich's suggestion.

leman