Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RobinAb

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2018
Hi everyone (especially graphic designers) please help,

I'm considering on buying the 15" 2017 Macbook Pro with specs 256GB; 2.8GHz; 16GB. That's the only specs that I can afford and I will definitely buy external hard drive for storage. I've been hearing some negative reviews on the 2016 model and saying that the 2017 model isn't that much of a difference but most of them are using editing apps such as Final Cut. I've been trying to get the 2015 model but apparently they don't sell it anymore (if been to all the apple-authorized resellers; we don't have apple store here) so I'm stuck with 2017 model.

I'm a graphic designer by trade and on daily basis, I would use (3 seperate conditions):

1. Adobe Illustrator (for vector illustrations; sometimes with textures) and Adobe Photoshop (for illustrations and light editing) simultaneously or;

2. Adobe Illustrator alone or Adobe Photoshop alone or;

3. Adobe InDesign

I will definitely play Spotify and/or Youtube while working on one of those conditions.

Will it have problems in case of performance an battery life? My old laptop is the 2013 ASUS with 8GB RAM and 2.4GHz processor and a heavy problem in battery life (I forgot the name of the model). I thought of upgrading to Mac because the display would be very beneficial comparing to working in my old laptop that gives very muted colours.

I'm planning for this to last about 4-5 years and I NEED it to last that long because I don't think I can afford to buy another one.

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
"I've been trying to get the 2015 model but apparently they don't sell it anymore"

BZZZZZZZZZZZZZT!
Incorrect! ;)

Go to store.apple.com.
Go to the MacBook Pro page (you won't see the 2015 model)
Click the "buy" button
Click "15-inch"
NOW scroll downwards -- that's where the 2015 15" is.