Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

avolmar

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 19, 2018
Hello
I own a MacBookPro 2018 i9 (highest frequency), 32GB RAM and 1TB SSD. Since I am a wedding photographer I work with Lightroom CC (current version). And beside of the open MacBook Pro Screen I am using the EIZO 27" 2550px x xxxpx. Currently I see Mac fan is blowing on a high frequency when working/exporting in LR.
Now I would like to attach the LG Ultrafine 5k as additional screen. But I am afraid, that the Mac becomes stuttering/slowier...
So my questions:

1. When I am using both screens I have to expecting any slow downs while working with LightRoom?
  2. If so, would it help when I use MacBook in Clamshell mode (closed screen)?
  3. Does anyone has any experienced with this screen in combination with photo workflow?

Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Regards
Alex

Samuelsan2001

macrumors 604
Oct 24, 2013
Your MacBook will always use the dGPU for external screens as that is how it’s wired. This will increase the load and cause the fans to spin up couple that with the high cpu usage of exporting in lightroom and you have a hot laptop. You have a couple of options you can use an app to limit the cpu usage for lightroom this will slow it down but control heat or you can swap to a more efficient better controlled app for editing photos.

avolmar

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 19, 2018
app to limit the cpu usage for lightroom this will slow it down but control heat or you can swap to a more efficient better controlled app for editing photos.
Thanks for your advise. What's the "drawback" of hot MacBook? I don't think any damages will be happened?

Painter2002

macrumors 65816
May 9, 2017
Austin, TX
Thanks for your advise. What's the "drawback" of hot MacBook? I don't think any damages will be happened?