Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tensixturtle

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 30, 2021
Kepler 22b
Hello,
This is my first time posting in the MacRumors forums, but I have enjoyed reading especially the Early Intel threads! I have an early 2006 MacBook Pro that I got used. There appeared to be display issues, and when I plugged it into a monitor, there was no issue, so I replaced the display but it looks identical. Please see the picture attached. The issue is the exact same as when I originally acquired it. I was wondering if the display I had bought has an issue, or is there a problem with the on-board graphics, in which case I would have to replace the logic board?
Thank you for your time!

IMG-8729.JPG

joevt

Contributor
Jun 21, 2012
I sometimes see something similar on my Apple Cinema 30" Display connected to Nvidia GTX 680 in a Mac Pro 2008. The problem usually goes away if I put the display to sleep and wake it up again (use Screen Saver -> Hot Corners -> Put Display to Sleep). The strange pixels I see are usually green-ish. Yours are red-ish.

Reactions: tensixturtle

840quadra

Staff member
Feb 1, 2005
Twin Cities Minnesota
Have you attempted to adjust screen resolution to see if the issue follows? Only other issue that I can think of would be either a display cable issue, port issue, or as you stated, the Logic Board.

You can try this fix that resolved a similar issue on one of my machines. Pulled from this post from Long ago.

Here is how you fix the vertical line problem on the macbook
restart by resetting the pram (holding command option p r on restart) until you hear 4 chimes
then when you get into os x. open up system pref.
go to display. change the resolution of your screen to anything but normal. then change back to normal. restart computer normally and problem is solved.

tensixturtle

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 30, 2021
Kepler 22b